#FMF · Blog · Poetry

Abandoning Our Agendas For His

//Hands gripped tightly,
knuckles white,
To these dreams, these plans
I hold so tight.

I’ve laid it all out,
My blueprint–perfected,
I’ve determined my days,
No room for interceptions.

Some call it a rut,
But I call it “prepared”.
I like to know the ropes,
Before I even get there.

But sometimes I wonder,
Do I make room for the Divine?
To interrupt my schedule,
and make use of my time?

To mess up all my stupid details,
To make room for a soul,
who longs to know the power,
of a God who’ll make them whole.

I think of all the greatness,
that could happen in my day,
If I gave up my agenda, and said
“Jesus, have your way.”

This one little word makes me want to change it all:
abandon

Abandon my schedule,
Abandon “predictability”
To seek to live a life,
full of divine opportunities

I don’t want to hoard my life;
Running after the “comfort” I covet,
How sad to get to the end of my life,
And realize I gave Him an INCH of it?

I want to begin my days, praying,
“God, I offer my day.”
Believing that He does mighty things,
When we give our “agendas” away.

May miracles come from mundane things,
As we offer Him our itinerarys,
So the world we’ll know, He’s not far away, no
He’s here in the midst of the ordinary. //

When You Feel Like-8

This post is a part of Five Minute Friday: a weekly writing challenge hosted at the one and only, Kate Motaung’s Blog. Join the fun next week! 

 

13 thoughts on “Abandoning Our Agendas For His

  1. This is a great poem and I definitely relate! I want to be open to what God is doing and allow him to use me but I do find it hard at times to let go of my own plans and ideas. Visiting from FMF #16.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I planned my own agenda for far too long…God intervened and tenderly showed me His plan. It was painful while his plan unfolded but what he gave me in exchange, words can’t express my gratitude for the gift God gave me. Your poetic verse gives expression to my thoughts about a surrendered life with God in control.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such beautiful words Kaitlin. Oh if I could just step aside for a moment to ask Jesus to draw me into his purpose without waiting for my own convenience.

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    Dropping by from FMF by way of #70.

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

