Blog

When You Feel Like Your Testimony Isn’t Powerful

I don’t have a good testimony…
Nothing really ‘crazy’ has happened in my life…
My story is basic and boring…

Have you ever found yourself saying these things?

Well, if so—you’re in good company.

when-you-feel-like
When asked to share my testimony, I used to kindly decline, resort to one of the above phrases and recommend they choose somebody else to share. Frankly, I didn’t believe my testimony was powerful. Somebody with a more ‘eventful’ salvation story would be more likely to change someone’s life than mine would.

At least that’s what I thought.

A couple months ago, I heard a teaching by Shauna Niequist that gave me a new perspective about the importance of sharing our testimonies. She said, “When we share the insides of our lives, we can actually set other people free. Sometimes people need to see what God has done in your life because they need to believe that God can do it in their life too.” (Living Life Together, Right Now Media)

We never know how our story can impact someone else.

Sometimes I think we put way too much pressure on ourselves to have these crazy, miraculous, bring-you-to-your-knees testimonies to prove that God did really did something amazing in our lives. The truth is: we don’t need to prove anything.  Our honest stories, struggles, and testaments of God’s activity in the midst of them will speak volumes. His activity can speak for itself. We never know what’s going on in someone’s heart– but God does, and He can use what happened in our own life to set somebody else free.

Too many times we can make our testimonies all about us–what we did and where we were–when really, the emphasis should be on the One who rescued us, made us new, and daily gives our lives meaning.

Our stories by themselves are just a sequence of events strung out on a timeline. But His activity weaved throughout our timelines change those “mere events” into monuments and memorials that tell of a God who is STILL alive, active and moving in the human heart. Our testimonies are the Gospel played out in a living, breathing, REAL person– You. Me. We share the Gospel when we share our stories.

Your struggles, heartbreaks, decisions and trials may be different  or even “less intense” than someone else’s, but that doesn’t make your testimony less impactful.  That’s just a lie.  We need to tell them. In fact, when we don’t share our testimonies, we forfeit an incredibly powerful weapon.

“And they have conquered him [[the enemy]] by the blood of the Lamb and by word of their testimony, for they loved not their lives even unto death.”- Revelation 12:11.

Our testimonies are used as weapons against the enemy.

If we choose to neglect them and not tell them, we lay down a vital instrument used to defeat the evil one who schemes to kill, steal and destroy. If I were the enemy, I would do anything I could to subdue that weapon–convincing people that their testimony isn’t “cool” enough, “powerful” enough, “crazy” enough or worth sharing to the world.

We never know how God’s movement in our life is going to affect and speak to someone else. To withhold our stories is to withhold good news that might bring hope, revelation and freedom to someone else. Instead of thinking our testimonies aren’t good enough, let’s share them like crazy.

After all, freedom to a captive might just be waiting on the other side.

 

6 thoughts on “When You Feel Like Your Testimony Isn’t Powerful

  1. I have one of those “grew up in church, got saved at 5” testimonies and I’ve found that while nothing major changed, no big story, I see how much God spared me from by saving me so early. My life would look so different if I hadn’t had Jesus so young.

    Like

  2. Beautifully written! I used to feel this way about my story! Then I shared it and I was surprised at the other person’s reaction. Now I can see more clearly the little and big ways God is apart of my daily life.

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

