Blog

Unwrapped: A Craigslist Miracle

Coming back to work after a vacation, I found the contents of my file drawers removed and drawer locks sitting on my desk. My heart sank. I looked around and realized my employees knew something I didn’t. Like an unexpected fall that leaves you bruised and breathless, my heart ached from the sharp sting of careless words and unfair actions.  I thought, how could this happen to me?

I still remember that tender waiting space when it seemed time stood still. I expected God to set the record straight and take me out of this undeserved situation. Co-workers were cold and aloof; chatting stopped when I entered a room.  What lies were told to them? “God, how much longer will I have to go through this?” I thought I would never find my way out.

“Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”
– Jeremiah 33:3 .

Jeremiah’s faith increased because he trusted God would do what he said he would do.

I leaned in close and God gently revealed the futility of my ladder climb to success and striving for false security and affirmation. He showed me the importance of trusting Him in everything. But God did not do what I wanted most; He didn’t rescue me and I was fearful of leaving a job that had given me a sense of financial security.

As my attitude shifted, my perspective changed. I stopped focusing on when the situation would end and intentionally focused on believing the promises in God’s word.

“But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.”
– Jeremiah 17:7

God was steering the ship and for the first time in my life, I was allowing it to happen. My faith was strengthened and I learned to trust him. I was encouraged by the faithful men and women in the Bible, like Jeremiah, who chose God in the face of adversity.

God’s promise of hope kept me going as he patiently prepared me to make one of the hardest decisions of my life. I walked out the door for the last time. For the first time in months I felt a sense of relief, though I faced an unknown giant – unemployment. God asked me to let go and fully depend on him. Working full-time until retirement had been my goal for so long, it was hard to see the “something better” God had for me.

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a path through the wilderness, I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.”
– Isaiah 43:19

Isaiah comforted the Israelites with God’s promise. They wandered through an arid desert where food and water were scarce and God provided everything they needed.

God’s promises in the Bible are relevant in our lives today.

The pieces of his plan unfold – the lyric of a praise song, my pastor’s Sunday sermon; something resonates deep inside and I am sure of God’s presence in my life.  I close my eyes and feel His specific love for me.

I balk at looking for a job on Craig’s List but there I find it, posted twice so I couldn’t miss it. I started that Thursday. God did what he said he would do. He provided a path through the wilderness, a job that provides financially and in a supportive, respectful environment.

But more than that, for the first time in my career, I have the gift of time. Working 20 hours a week allows me to follow my passion for writing and spend time with my grandchildren. Three-day weekends and coffee with friends every Thursday morning, hitting the gym before the 5:00 o’clock rush. God blessed me with an unexpected gift – the gift of time. This specific answer to such a great need made me believe that God sees me, I am known by Him.

Who would have thought God would answer from such an unusual place?

God can use anything, even Craig’s List.
_________________________________________________________________

nancy

 

Nancy is a wife and Christ follower who is grateful for God’s unconditional and unfailing love. Moments with her grandchildren make her heart skip a beat, as does art of any kind and exploring the woods and water of the Pacific Northwest on foot or bicycle. She writes for two beautiful daughters and you! May the words she writes resonate in your heart, pointing back to God our creator who gives us hope.

To read more of Nancy’s writing, head over to her blog  Timeless Truths.

 

_________________________________________________________________

img_5733

3 thoughts on “Unwrapped: A Craigslist Miracle

  1. Nancy, I love your stories. They are always uplifting, and this is no different! And I LOVE Jeremiah 3:33.

    Kaitlin, I adore this series. I can’t wait to read the next post! It has made me pause and look for those gifts in unexpected places. Thanks for hosting it.

    Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

