Write 31 Days

{{Day 16}} Little

little-5mfw-e1475106506212

//My husband and I used to be children’s pastors for about a year during our first year of marriage.
It was a blast.
I learned so much and I was richly blessed by the little hands that touched my heart so deeply.

One night as we were cleaning up the room from the Sunday before, I noticed there were these little white balls that littered every inch of the floor.
“What in the world is this?” I thought to myself.
I picked up one of these mysterious white globules, so bewildered at what the heck this was. I squished it, smelled it, and held it up to the light. (Don’t worry, I didn’t taste it.)
Then it dawned on me.
We gave away prizes that week, and one of those prizes happened to be Wax Bottles. Instead of throwing away the wax bottles, they were chewing them up and spitting them out on the floor. I rolled my eyes as I looked around the room and saw chewed up wax balls ALL over the floor that I would have to pick up.

“Well…they sure left their mark.” I mumbled under my breath.

In that moment, I stopped and started to think about these kids–how they were growing, the stories they had been telling about their faith, and their dreams of changing the world through their talents. I laughed as I pictured what it would look like if they littered the world with their God given callings just as they had this Sunday school room. I started praying over this, waxy spit-ball soaked room:

“Father, I pray that these little ones would saturate this world with what you’ve given them. Let them leave their marks EVERYWHERE they go, so that people will know You’ve been among them. May they be reckless with abandon in throwing seeds to be planted in people’s hearts, and may they be unashamed when life gets a little bit messy from living the right way.”

Those little ones rocked my world in a way I didn’t know it could be rocked. They blessed me and encouraged me in ways I didn’t know I needed. I was reminded of how deep they loved when those tears kept coming and those hugs that lasted forever when we had to say goodbye when we moved to a new city. I will never forget those little hands and those “little” inconvieniences that made all the difference.\\

This post is Day 16 of Five Minute Free Writes for the Write 31 Days Challenge.

What Are Your Thoughts?

