Write 31 Days

Day 5 {{Silence}}

Silence is awkward for me.
I blame it on my “auditory learning style”. I just crave noise.
When people aren’t talking—I will make a noise. Cough. Sneeze. Laugh. Hum a tune or make a conversation. SOMETHING. In my head I’m chanting to myself, “Don’t let the silence linger…PLEASE. I’m begging you… do something woman!” 

Even as much as I don’t like silence, sometimes, silence is the very thing that is needed to bring our minds back to order. Noise can be just another form of distraction when what our hearts really need is silence to think and process.

For it is in the silence we are forced to be with ourselves, hear ourselves and be okay with what we say and what we feel. I’m not always okay with what my heart has to say. Thus, silence is hard for me.

But what if this practicing “silence” was actually beneficial for my heart? To get quiet in a world full of blabbering, sit still and let my heart talk. Let God talk. I believe there is a reason our society doesn’t practice silence. There are constant messages being sent to us every single minute in every single scheme, product and advertisement our world tries to sell us. They want us to buy their ways, buy their thoughts, and so they fire messages to persuade us to do so. There’s a certain way to think, look and act and all of these messages make for a whole lot of noise going on around us.

But if we don’t get silent for a little bit, we wont have the opportunity to pause and reflect on who we actually are, what we actually need and what we we’re actually made for.

Maybe silence isn’t a bad thing; it’s just a little bit counter cultural.

we-weremade-for-community

This post is Day 5 of Five Minute Free Writes for the Write 31 Days Challenge.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 5 {{Silence}}

What Are Your Thoughts?

