Write 31 Days

Day 3 {{Wardrobe}}

Day 3: Wardrobe

“Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience…Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony.”
– Colossians 3:12-14

//I stand in front of my mirror, shift to the left, to the right, and behind.
“Naaah!”
The third pair of jeans hits the floor and joins the mound of “failed” outfits.
I don’t know about ya’ll, but picking out what I’m gonna wear is a process.
p.r.o.c.e.s.s.
I’ve got a wardrobe full of clothes and a mind full of indecisiveness.

I think on this verse about “clothing” yourself with all of these Godly things and I can’t help but think about my daily patterns of dressing myself.
“This is too tight. This is uncomfortable. This makes me look dumb. People will laugh at me.” I take off what I don’t like and keep on what makes me look good.

Lets be honest: kindness doesn’t always feel good.
Humility will cause me, at times, to look stupid.
Gentleness and mercy can easily been thrown off when my anger is tempered with and my emotions have been rattled.

Even still, we are called to clothe ourselves in these qualities every day.
Whether they feel good or not, it’s who we’re called to be.

It’s a conscious, fully intentional decision to decide to wear a wardrobe that imitates Christ and reflects who He is.//

One thought on “Day 3 {{Wardrobe}}

What Are Your Thoughts?

