Blog

Changing Your Perspective in the Midst of Trials

It’s the word uttered by a curious two year old a thousand times a day:
“Why?”
It’s the word that, when asked, allows us to discover how we’re truly feeling inside:
“Why?”
More over, it’s the word we cry out in the midst of tragedy, confusion and brokenness:
“Why?”

I’ve found myself spewing out this word when I look at my frail ole self and what has been put before me. I ask:
“Why me? Why would you choose me for this? I’m not cut out of the right cloth for this.”
When it feels like the odds are against you, the easiest thing to do is to question God asking why He allowed this trial in your life.

But what would happen if we stopped measuring our problems against our limitations and instead started measuring our problems against God’s power? What if instead of asking “Why me?”, we started asking, “Ok, God. How are YOU going to do this or get me through this?” I believe this changes our perspective in multiple ways.

First, it takes the pressure off of you.
The question, “Why me?” indicates that whatever you are facing must be overcome in your own power and strength. That’s a pretty daunting task. By asking how instead of why, it causes us to place our faith in God’s character and His power instead of relying on our own. It allows us to let go of our own battle plans and agendas and start to walk in His.

“Nevertheless, I am continually with You; You hold my right hand. You guide me with Your counsel, and afterward you will receive me into glory… My flesh and my heart my fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” – Psalm 73:23-26

Second, it causes us to remember what God is capable of.
Whenever I was afraid as a child, the first person I would run to was my dad. Between his headstrong character and bulging muscles I was confident He would stand between me and the source of fear. It was effortless to pass off my fear and entrust myself into someone else’s care. I never questioned why the fear chose me, but I cast it all off onto my dad knowing He was capable of taking care of me.

By deflecting our apprehensions and the weight of our struggles on Christ, we remember that His shoulders are big enough to carry them. He is capable of changing hearts, working miracles, bringing something from nothing, and reviving something that was lifeless. When we look to Him as our sole Protector, Comforter, Provider and Guide, we can be assured that He is capable of taking care of whatever care we cast on Him.

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” -Ephesians 3:20

Lastly, it causes us to remember WHO is on our side.
Asking HOW causes us to affirm our belief in a God that is mighty, unwavering and steadfast in all that He does. AND HE IS ON OUR SIDE. What! There is so much comfort in knowing that even if ALL odds are against us, God is still for us. I may be a frail shell of a woman, but He is a strong God with resources way beyond mine to accomplish His plan and His will. This task, this calling, this life may be way beyond us, but we can have full assurance in the One who goes behind and before us.

“What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son but gave Him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?” -Romans 8:31-32

“The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” -Psalm 118:6

God, how are you going to do this or get me through this?

That is the question I want to start asking.  I miss out on so many chances to grow because I measure what has just been put in front of me against my limitations. And duh. I can’t do it and I don’t do it. Maybe this change of perspective will turn those obstacles into opportunities, those tasks into testimonies and this confusion into confidence.  Of course we have responsibilities and a part to play in this, but there is so much comfort in knowing that we don’t have to carry it all by ourselves.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Changing Your Perspective in the Midst of Trials

  1. Kaitin, ‘why’ is one question that really haunted me, and challenged my faith, when I was working as a security contractor…which in those days was spelled ‘mercenary’.

    Why was THIS village put to the sword? Why didn’t we get here in time? Why these people, God?

    The only answer I could come up with, that holds me together now as I am terminally ill, is that it’s a result of free will. Free will’s required of us to make the choice for God, and as a corollary we have to face its evil attendants, cruelty and cancer and catastrophe.

    There are a lot of ‘whys’ yet, and some still hurt (visit my Five Minute Friday link below if you’re interested) but I do have a measure of peace.

    Here’s the link

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/09/your-dying-spouse-213-lethal-lessons-fmf.html

    Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

