Blog

#FiveMinuteFriday ||Collect||

collect

Today is #FiveMinuteFriday over at Kate Moutang’s blog! Here is 5 minutes of freewriting on the word collect. 

Ready—> Go!

I was driving around the other day thinking about a Bible study I have been doing and how fascinating it has been. I started thinking, “I just love God’s word. I’m like, obsessed with it! All of these connections are just so cool.” As I thought on that word “obsessed”, I began envisioning myself reading God’s Word, picking scriptures out of it and putting them on a shelf as if I was forming a collection of sorts.
“Yeah that’s it”, I thought, “I like to collect God’s Word!”

A collection.

And then I started thinking a little deeper. When you collect things, you don’t really touch them do you? You don’t play with them, get them dirty or even use them. Normally, you just show a collection off and stare at it.

Do I merely collect God’s word and treat it in the same way?

Do His Word’s sit stale and unmoved on the shelves of my heart for me to show off and write about when I want to make a statement? Am I simply fascinated with the promises of God, yet unmoved by the desire to obey? Am I afraid to get my hands dirty in a world that needs these words?

Let’s be real, when we start living out God’s words our lives do get messy.

All I know is I don’t want to see God’s word as a collection I look at and admire but never take off the shelf and put into action.

James 1:23-15 says it perfectly:

“But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.  For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror. You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.”

May God’s Word not serve as a collection of pretty words to show off and admire, but rather truths we dig our heels into, stand on and live by.

<—— Stop

If you want to join the #FMF party, get to typin’ and head over here!

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “#FiveMinuteFriday ||Collect||

  1. A lovely reminder to live with and into God’s word every day, not just when we choose to take it off a shelf once in a while. I’ll think about how often I do this… thanks for helping provide a revelation. Visiting from FMF#41

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Do His Word’s sit stale and unmoved on the shelves of my heart for me to show off and write about when I want to make a statement?” Powerful, piercing question. I want to be moved. I don’t want God’s word to be stale. I don’t want His word to be about my statements.
    Thank you for your words. I am moved.

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

